Riddu Sessions

Riddu Sessions is a talent program created in 2016 as a continuation of Riddu Riđđu's annual Young Artist of the Year appointment. The appointed artist spend the following year developing their own art project, closely supervised by mentors to ensure artistic development. In addition to receiving a scholarship of 25,000 NOK, Riddu's Young Artist of the Year receives a sponsored stay at Lásságámmi, the artist residence of multi-artist Nils-Aslak Valkeapää. Through Riddu Sessions, the appointed artist will gain the tools necessary for running an art project. The talent program places particular emphasis on collaboration with other artists.

Riddu Sessions 2021 is the album Nagirvárrái by musician Emil Kárlsen from Storfjord. Young Artists of the Year 2021 are Sámi dancers Biret Haarla and Gáddjá Haarla from Dálvadas in Tanadalen.

Riddu Sessions is supported by Talent Norge, Sparebank1 Nord-Norge and the Sámi Parliament in Norway.

Elina Waage Mikalsen. Photo: Ørjan Marakatt Bertelsen

The purpose of the talent program
Riddu Sessions aims to support young Sámi artists in creating their own art projects; giving them access to a larger audience, and facilitating the development of Sámi art and culture in new directions on the artists' terms. The appointed artists represent different genres in the field of art and are closely supervised by their mentors throughout the year.

Riddu Sessions projects
2019: “We didn’t cross the border. The border crossed us.” (multimedial slam-poetry show) by Ánná Káisá Partapuoli, slam-poet, Skånland, Norway
2018: “aindás” (hip hop-show) by Ánna-Katri Helander, dancer, Kautokeino, Norway
2017: “Morit Elena Morit” (animation movie) by Inga-Wiktoria Påve, visual artist, Lannavaara, Sweden
2016: “Golbma jiena” (EP) by Marja Mortensson, Elina Waage Mikalsen and Katarina Barruk

Ánná Káisá Partapuoli. Photo: Eirin Roseneng

Young Artist of the Year 2000-2021

2021: Biret Haarla og Gáddjá Haarla, dancers, Dálvadas, Finland
2019: Emil Kárlsen, musician, Storfjord, Norway
2018: Ánná Káisá Partapuoli, slam-poet, Skånland, Norway
2017: Ánna-Katri Helander, dancer, Kautokeino, Norway
2016: Inga -Wiktoria Påve, visual artist, Lannavaara, Sweden
2015: Elina Waage Mikalsen, artist and musician, Tromsø, Norway
2014: Marja Helena Fjellheim Mortensson, musician, Engerdal, Norway
2013: Sarakka Gaup, actor, Oslo/Kautokeino, Norway
2012: Katarina Barruk, musician, Umeå, Sweden
2011: Marja Bål Nango, director, Skibotn, Norway
2010: Niillas Holmberg, musician and poet, Utsjok, Finland
2009: Anders Sunna, visual artist, Jokkmokk, Sweden
2008: Eline Grønvoll, musician, Furuflaten, Norway
2007: Elisabeth Pettersen Jenssen, photographer, Olderdalen/Dálošvákkis, Norway
2006: Huui - clothing designer, Ragnhild Dalheim Eriksen, Storfjord, Norway and Therese Lindseth, Tromsø, Norway
2005: Sigbjørn Skåden, author, Skånland, Norway
2004: Johan Ánte Utsi, musician, Kautokeino, Norway
2003: Nils Ingvald Gaup, design, Kautokeino, Norway
2002: Sara Marielle Gaup, musician, Kautokeino, Norway
2001: Tiina Sanila, musician, Sevettijärvi, Finland
2000: Lawra Somby, musician, Tromsø, Norway